Skip to main content

School Board Appreciation Month

Posted Date: 01/09/2022

Our school board members are selfless volunteers who spend long hours working to ensure all of our students have the opportunity to learn and grow. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Sam Rayburn ISD board is responsible for an annual budget of over $6 million, approximately 500 students, 84 employees and two campuses.

“School boards are essential to a strong public education system,” Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Executive Director Dan Troxell said. “They provide the local governance and oversight that makes it possible for school districts to serve students, including establishing a strategic plan, adopting policies, approving a budget and selecting and evaluating a superintendent. It’s fitting that we celebrate them in January as their leadership is key to the success of every school district in Texas.”

Board members serving SRISD are:

Drew Farris

Chris Flippo

Lynn Gibbs

J.D. Kissinger

Bryan McCraw

Jason Nichols

Jim Shaw


School Board Appreciation Month